CS707 Data and Web Science Seminar (HWS 2015)

The Data and Web Science seminar covers recent topics in data and web science. This term, the seminar focuses on non-traditional data management and NoSQL database systems.



In this seminar, you will
  • Read, understand, and explore scientific literature
  • Summarize a current research topic in a concise report
  • Give a presentation about your topic
  • Moderate a scientific discussion about a topic of one of your fellow students
  • Provide feedback to a report and a presentation of a fellow student


  • Select your preferred topics and register by Sept 18 (see below)
  • Attend the kickoff meeting (to be disclosed)
  • You will be assigned a tutor, who provides guidance and one-to-one meetings
  • Work individually throughout the semester: explore literature, write a report, peer-review, create a presentation
  • Give your presentation and moderate a presentation of a fellow student in a block seminar at the end of the semester
  • Detailed schedule can be found here


Explore the list of topics below and select at least 3 topics of your preference. Send a ranked list of your selected topics via email to kbeedkar(at)uni-mannheim(dot)de until Sept 18, 2015. We will confirm your registration immediately. The actual topic assignment takes place at the kickoff meeting; our goal is, of course, to assign to you you one of your preferred topics.


The papers and articles listed below serve as an entry point to a topic; you are expected to explore related relevant literature on your own.

Students are free to suggest topics of their choice and are also encouraged to choose topics based on commercial systems like Neo4j, Infinitegraph, MongoDB, CouchDB, Rasdaman, SciDB.

Topic Assignments

Topic Student Reviewer Moderator Advisor
Bigtable Masood Maldar Kevin Harbarth Tobias Höhnmann Kaustubh Beedkar
Cassandra Alexander Renz-Wieland Tobias Höhnmann Yannick Hillerich Rainer Gemulla
Distributed GraphLab Tobias Höhnmann Alexander Renz-Wieland Kevin Hehn Rainer Gemulla
NoDB Kevin Harbarth Kevin Hehn Masood Maldar Christina Teflioudi
Spanner Yannick Hillerich Masood Maldar Alexander Renz-Wieland Kaustubh Beedkar
F1 Kevin Hehn Yannick Hillerich Kevin Harbarth Kaustubh Beedkar